Congratulations to the 2013 Colorado Children’s Book Award Winners & Runners-Up, as well as all nominated books. The Colorado Children’s Book Award is selected annually by the children of Colorado.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 2013 Colorado Children’s Book Award Winners & Runners-Up were:

  • Picture Book
    • Winner: Pete the Cat – I Love My White Shoes written by Eric Litwin and illustrated by James Dean
    • Runner Up: Spoon written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Scott Magoon
  • Junior Book
    • Winner: Darth Paper Strikes Back written by Tom Angleberger
    • Runner Up: Kane Chronicles Book #1: The Red Pyramid written by Rick Riordan

The rest of the 2013 Colorado Children’s Book Award nominated books were:

  • Picture Book
    • Always in Trouble written by Corinne Demas & illustrated by Noah Z. Jones
    • Chalk written & illustrated by Bill Thomson
    • The Gingerbread Man Loose in the School written by Laura Murray & illustrated by Mike Lowery
    • I Want My Hat Back written & illustrated by Jon Klassen
    • If You Give a Dog a Donut written by Laura Numeroff & illustrated by Felicia Bond
    • Meet Me at the Moon written & illustrated by Gianna Marino
    • Otis and the Tornado written & illustrated by Loren Long
    • Tell the Truth, B. B. Wolf written by Judy Sierra & illustrated by J. Otto Seibold

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Chapter Book
    • 13 Gifts written by Wendy Mass
    • It’s Raining Cupcakes written by Lisa Schroeder
    • Judy Moody, Girl Detective written by Megan McDonald & illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
    • Magic Tree House #46: Dogs in the Dead of Night written by Mary Pope Osborne & illustrated by Sal Murdocca
    • Scumble written by Ingrid Law
    • Showoff written by Gordon Korman
    • Storm Runners: The Surge written by Roland Smith
    • Wonderstruck written by Brian Selznick

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just a refresher: The Colorado Children’s Book Award is given annually to a book that was published within the five years preceding the award year. The Colorado Children’s Book Award is sponsored by the Colorado Council of the International Reading Association (CCIRA) and has been given annually since 1975. The CCIRA accepts nominations from children via their libraries and tallies votes at the libraries as well. Click here for more information on the Colorado Children’s Book Award. A history of Colorado Children’s Book Award winners can be found here.



Borrow. Read. Return. Repeat.