Mercy WatsonThe Mercy Watson series by Kate DiCamillo is really funny! Mercy is a pig. Yes. I said a pig. One of the reasons I think this series is funny is  because Mercy loves, I should say absolutely loves, buttered toast. It makes Mercy sound like a human. One of her other humanly features is that Mr. and Mrs. Watson sing Mercy to sleep every night. The song goes like this:

“Bright, bright is the morning sun,
but brighter still is are darling one.
Dark, dark is the coming night,
but oh, our Mercy shines so bright.”

And at the end of each book they have a party, with buttered toast of course.

Mercy Watson is rated Renew It Again & Again!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Mercy Watson series is really funny. I hope you had a fun time reading this Mercy Watson post. I had a fun time writing it, too!

Mercy Watson Book List

  1. Mercy Watson to the Rescue
  2. Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride *
  3. Mercy Watson Fights Crime
  4. Mercy Watson: Princess in Disguise
  5. Mercy Watson Thinks Like a Pig
  6. Mercy Watson: Something Wonky This Way Comes

* Awarded Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor in 2007

Book Information:

  • Reading Level: Grade K-2
  • Interest: Age 4-8
  • Pages: ~75 pages each
  • Pictures: many (this is almost a picture book)
  • Main Characters: a pig
  • Genre: Humor, Fiction